2013 Australia – Significant Aboriginal Dates in Aboriginal History

Sunday 7th July – 14th July 2013

This week we celebrate NAIDOC Week

NAIDOC Official Website – The History of NAIDOC Week

Brian Butler, Co-Founder & Director of Lateral Love Australia at the 2012 NAIDOC Awards, Lord Mayor’s morning tea held at the Adelaide City Council Town Hall – Adelaide, South Australia.

NAIDOC stands for the National Aborigines and Islanders Day Observance Committee. Its origins can be traced to the emergence of Aboriginal groups in the 1920’s which sought to increase awareness in the wider community of the status and treatment of Indigenous Australians.

NAIDOC is a celebration of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures and an opportunity to recognise the contributions of Indigenous Australians in various fields.

Activities take place across the nation during NAIDOC Week in the first full week of July. All Australians are encouraged to participate.

Past Themes and Host Cities:

2012 – Spirit of the Tent Embassy: 40 years on (Hobart)
2011 – Change: the next step is ours (Sydney)
2010 – Unsung Heroes – Closing the Gap by Leading Their Way (Melbourne)
2009 – Honouring Our Elders, Nurturing Our Youth (Brisbane)
2008 – Advance Australia Fair? (Canberra)
2007 – 50 Years: Looking Forward, Looking Blak (Darwin)
2006 – Respect the Past-Believe in the Future (Cairns)
2005 – Our Future Begins with Solidarity (Adelaide)
2004 – Self-determination-Our Community-Our Future-Our Responsibility (Perth)
2003 – Our Children Our Future (Hobart)
2002 – Recognition, Rights and Reform (Sydney)
2001 – Treaty-Let’s Get it Right (Melbourne)
2000 – Building Pride in Our Communities (Townsville)
1999 – Respect (Alice Springs)
1998 – Bringing Them Home (Broome)
1997 – Gurindji, Mabo, Wik-Three Strikes for Justice-Celebrating the 30th Anniversary of the 1967 Referendum (Brisbane)
1996 – Survive-Revive-Come Alive (Adelaide)
1995 – Justice Not Tolerance (Perth)
1994 – Families Are the Basis of Our Existence-Maintain the Link (Melbourne)
1993 – Aboriginal Nations-Owners of the Land Since Time Began-Community is Unity (Darwin)
1992 – Maintain the Dreaming-Our Culture is Our Heritage (Canberra)
1991 – Community is Unity-Our Future Depends on Us (Sydney)
1990 – New Decade-Don’t Destroy, Learn and Enjoy Our Cultural Heritage (Tasmania)
1989 – The Party is Over-Let’s Be Together as an Aboriginal Nation (Darwin)
1988 – Recognise and Share the Survival of the Oldest Culture in the World (Brisbane)
1987 – White Australia Has a Black History (Perth)
1986 – Peace-Not For You-Not For Me But For All (Adelaide)
1985 – Understanding: It Takes the Two of Us (Melbourne)
1984 – Take a Journey of Discovery – To the Land My Mother (Adelaide)
1983 – Let’s Talk-We Have Something to Say
1982 – Race For Life For a Race
1981 – Sacred Sites Aboriginal Rights-Other Australians Have Their Rites
1980 – Treat Us to a Treaty on Land Rights
1979 – 1979 International Year of the Child. What About Our Kids!
1978 – Cultural Revival is Survival
1977 – Chains or Change
1976 – Trucanini Last of her People Born 18?? . Died 1876. Buried 1976. Received Her Land Rights at Last
1975 – Justice for Urban Aboriginal Children
1974 – Self Determination
1973 – It’s Time For Mutual Understanding
1972 – Advance Australia Where?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *